Knitting Full Circles

Years ago, my grandmother taught me to knit when she came over to visit us. I think I must have been about 10 or 11. She came with my mom and me to the craft store to buy some cheap acrylic yarn, whittled the tips on a pair of bamboo chopsticks with a jackknife, and set me to work. I knit a square with a lot of inadvertent holes in it. And then I figured I sucked at this and forgot all about it, especially when my grandmother’s next visit meant a from-scratch, designed-to-fit custom Emily Dickinson dress for a school book report/project.

My mom learned to knit the same way, from the same lady. Except they only used wool back then and my mother had this thing about not doing any shaping. She would knit only the straight bits and then hand it over to her mom to finish. My mom apparently knit an entire pullover for my dad like this. She says: “My mom did it better.” I say: “You’re lazy.”

When my mother decided to try her hand at knitting again, she asked for something very very easy, with no yarnovers, no knit2togethers, no purling through the back loops. She said she’d make something for me, whatever I wanted. So…here it is, from SwayMom:

Texture-y, Eter-knit-ty Scarf

Pattern: Looks Good on All Sides Scarf from Custom Knits

Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca, approximately 3 skeins

Needles: US 7 circulars

Mods: Turned it into a big ol’ loop and eliminated the border stitches on the sides.

I quite, quite love this scarf and the yarn that went into it. I had originally purchased this yarn to make the Moderne Log Cabin Blanket, but over the years I never had the motivation to knit an entire blanket for me (more on this in a later post). So since I’ve been wanting one of those super-long eternity scarves in a textured, reversible pattern, I figured I could just let my mom knit one for me.

These were such easy modifications–I just set my mom up with a provisional cast-on, cast on only the number of stitches in the pattern repeats without adding border stitches, and let her go until the whole thing was about 80 inches in length. At the end, I picked away the provisional cast-on and grafted the edges together. It’s long enough to wrap 3 times around my neck.

One of the things that’s been very clear to me over this past year is that we all tend to weigh ourselves down with extra…stuff. Just stuff, all of it. I have too many books, too much yarn, too many DVDs, too many clothes, too many shoes. Too much. And yet I always think I need more. I am now, with the help of a mom whose needles (which are technically mine) are on fire, determined to knit down the yarn I already possess so that I stop accumulating and start doing.

About swayknits

Knitting, writing, designing, dreaming. swayknits is also my username on ravelry.com
This entry was posted in Things That Wrap. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knitting Full Circles

  1. Julie says:

    wow, it’s gorgeous!! she did an awesome job.

Leave a Reply

