Knitknitknit, ad infinitum

Really, the only word for this blanket is…WHEW.

This is a long slog, m’friends. A very. Long. Slog. Even if you smush all the knitting into a short span of time, it will still lodge in your memory as an infinite time warp loop of garter stitches. The garter stitches will even run amok through your dreams, chasing you with repetitive chants of “knit, knit, knit, knit, knit, knit, knit, knit…pick-up…knit, knit, knit, knit, knit.” You get the drift.

But then again, you end up with a singularly striking bundle o’ joy:

Shamrockian Wedding Blanket

Pattern: Moderne Log Cabin Blanket (free pattern link!) from Mason-Dixon Knitting

Yarn: Vanna’s Choice — 4 balls each of Kelly Green, Dusty Green, and Espresso; 3 balls of Linen

Needles: US 9 26″ circulars

Modifications: Fiddled with a different gauge; shifted color blocks; added a made-up garter stitch border

This blanket is really the tale of my cousin and his wife. For years, my cousin’s friends couldn’t figure out why he was so picky about girls. Then suddenly last year, he got engaged within a year of meeting a lovely girl and everyone knew the answer. Sometimes, you know what you know when you know it. Ain’t nuthin’ you can do about it.

So when they were getting married, I knew I wanted to make them something as a keepsake. But I also wanted it to be usable, not something so precious that they’d pack it away in tissue paper and forget about it in the depths of a dark linen closet somewhere. Since both of them love the color green, I went to Michael’s and purchased a shopping basket full of acrylic. I’ve only used acrylic before on things like toys and pot scrubbers, but the Vanna’s Choice felt pretty nice and I wanted something both washable and with a huge color range. Win-win.

The blanket is very simple, but it took me at least four blocks to get the pick-ups to look really neat and professional. For anyone making this, I’d recommend using yarn that’s heavier. I’m sure the Silky Wool they use in the book would be lovely, but it was enough for me to get a similarly-sized blanket with fewer stitches. I even washed and tumble-dried the blanket before gifting and it came out softer and cushier. Vanna, it seems, has made some pretty good choices.

I’m sure I’ll make this again at some point–the finished object is pretty wonderful and the tedious garter stitches at least lend themselves well to television knitting. Except next time, I’m buying longer circular needles. And remembering that the Log Cabin concept is a lot like a good relationship–you gotta work through some of the slog to see what a wonderful thing a hand-knit blanket really is.

About swayknits

Knitting, writing, designing, dreaming. swayknits is also my username on ravelry.com
This entry was posted in Home-ly. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Knitknitknit, ad infinitum

  1. Julie says:

    wow, it’s GORGEOUS!! congrats on finishing it, it really is amazing.

  2. Deb says:

    Beautiful! Makes me want to make one.

  3. lolly says:

    Wow! this is beautiful. LOVE the colors. I know you are happy to be done – you should be proud, because it is great!

  4. Gudrun says:

    I love this! It’s made in just one piece right? No seaming? Now you gave me a tip for a baby gift to my sister.

    Gudrun

Leave a Reply

