The Seductive Powers of the Knit Dress

Many sweater seasons ago, I dug a big hole in my wallet by purchasing a lot of this:

13 balls of Rowan Kid Classic in Victoria

To fulfill my intermediate knitter fantasy of this:

Rannoch Dress from Rowan 42

Oh, my heart beat faster just thinking of those lovely fair-isle sleeves, the backdrop of the stark British wilds, the pretty model’s pensive-and-somehow-mildly-feral expression.

But then I swatched and the swatch was bad. By “bad,” I mean that I got nowhere near the right gauge, even when I switched needle sizes up and down the spectrum. I got mad. I put the yarn away in my underbed drawer and tried to forget how much of my paycheck I’d spent on a project that would be going nowhere. Every time I reorganized my stash, I petted these lovely balls of Victoria, thought of the swatch, and went Gahhhhh!!!!!

I contemplated selling the yarn. I contemplated using it for a dozen other projects. Slowly, over time, lovely Rannoch lost her allure. She is still empirically beautiful, but my now advanced-knitter (at least, I like to think so) brain no longer covets the things I absolutely have no space for in my wardrobe and/or lifestyle.

Because, honestly, I get hot at about 75 degrees Fahrenheit. I’m not kidding. I need it to be at least 69 degrees before I think of wearing a cotton jacket out in theĀ  daylight. I consider a brisk walk in 30 degree climates to be enjoyable and invigorating; refreshing, even.

So why, oh why, is my brain all agog over this???

“This” is Kiloran from Twist Collective Fall 2010. I blame my knitlust on the photos. They’re all Parisian and rainy and romantic. And with a bicycle! How is one supposed to resist images of heartbroken Parisians on bicycles? Gah.

The dress is made with Ultra Alpaca, which I love and have had great experiences with, but there are 13 balls of Kid Classic wailing to be used! Is it a suitable substitute? Can I bear the potential heartbreak of having swatches be bad once again? Can I be persuaded to don a woolen dress before the weather drops to 30 degrees? Must I be forced to sneak a slip under this when I hate hate hate superfluous undergarments?

Despite the number of works-in-progress I have (which includes a completely stranded, to-be-steeked cardi), I am seriously seriously itching (figuratively) to make this. Already my mind is whirring with modifications. I would perhaps turn the front into a v-neck, set in the sleeves a bit more on the shoulder, lengthen the skirt to my knees, and forego the parallel buttons on the front. I love parallel buttons in theory, but they always remind me WAY too much of this:

I confess: I am obsessed with knit dresses and perhaps the only way to get it out of my system is to make one and prove to my addled brain that only disaster lies ahead.

About swayknits

Knitting, writing, designing, dreaming. swayknits is also my username on ravelry.com
This entry was posted in Skirts That Flirt. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Seductive Powers of the Knit Dress

  1. Julie says:

    definitely swatch for it! It might be amazing, you never know unless you swatch and find out. I agree, it’s a gorgeous, romantic dress.

  2. Eliana says:

    Both dresses are awesome!!! And I really love the detailing at the top of 2nd…
    All the styles are classic and timeless, great choice :)

  3. Siga says:

    Swatch it. And afterwards you can still take time to think if you actually want to knit it. ;-)

  4. Wow, I am in love with that second dress. I would modify the sleeves a bit too. Sadly, I don’t think I have the patience to knit a dress!

    http://craftynycgirl.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

