Desert Gold, Iris Purple

One WIP down, nine to go.

A Long Daybreak’s Journey Into Night

Pattern: Daybreak by Stephen West

Yarn: Scraps of Knit Picks Gloss in Serengeti, Fleece Artist Sea Wool in Gold, 2 reclaimed skeins of Claudia Handpainted Yarns Fingering in Bearded Iris, scraps of Dream in Color Smooshy in Visual Purple.

Needles: US 6 bamboo circs

In 2007, when I was first flirting with expensive (i.e., not acrylic) yarns, I made a pair of sadly undocumented Anemoi Mittens in KnitPicks Gloss Sock Yarn (Serengeti and Burgundy) that I gave to a friend for Christmas and an iteration of Last Minute Knitted GiftsChevron Scarf in Colinette Jitterbug Summer Berries and Claudia Handpainted Yarns Fingering in Bearded Iris.

Three years and almost 100 projects ago.

This was way before I had even an inkling of how color values work together. I had no idea that combining a dark, brown-infused berry purple with an almost-electric purple and brown combo would create . . . something simultaneously neon and muddy. Hmm. The scarf was fine, but I ended up packing it away in a Container Store box of other rarely-used clothing items and forgot about it.

Until the upheaval that has been my life over the past year. At that point, I took stock of my yarn collection, sold a bunch I didn’t want or need anymore, and proceeded to take on a new philosophy of stashing. Namely, stop buying and start knitting. I ripped this scarf and put the yarn into my scrap pile.

When I saw Daybreak popping up all over Ravelry (specifically, this one and this one and this one and this one), I really, really, really wanted to make one. But I really, really, really didn’t want to buy more yarn. So I dug around, tried to come up with enough yardage in two colors. No such luck.

But I did find small amounts of various yarns that hearkened back to my first forays into local and online yarn stores. And what a nice turn of events that they ended up coming together to create a nice gold arc with big splotches of bright purple and shadowy brown.

Resourcefulness. It's the new black.

I used my old aluminum needles for blocking wires, which left a ruffly edge. It’s kind of growing on me even though I was aiming for those lovely straight edges.

I’m gonna wear this with everything this autumn. My jeans, my utility jackets, my blazers, my heels, my blouses, my t-shirts, my everything.

About swayknits

Knitting, writing, designing, dreaming. swayknits is also my username on ravelry.com
This entry was posted in Things That Wrap. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Desert Gold, Iris Purple

  1. Deb says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous! I have queued it but it would be hard to replicate the beautiful color combination you put together!

  2. Julie says:

    both are gorgeous!!! such great yarn colours.

  3. frillbow says:

    Wow! You really know how to colour combine – this is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

