Pumpkin Season…Now with Cherry Flavor

October is upon us. This is perhaps my favorite month. “Because it’s not too hot, not too cold. All you need is a light jacket!” But seriously, after the humidity and grossness of summer, it’s the best weather ever. Plus, my favorite things start poppin’ up (or I can look forward to them poppin’ up soon) come October time: Foliage, mulled cider, whipping out my stylish yet affordable boots, the annual window of opportunity within which to purchase Starbucks’ Gingerbread Lattes, old-school animated holiday specials on TV, candy corn, and…pumpkins.

Clockwise from top left: Philosophical pumpkins, hungry pumpkins, tired-of-photos pumpkins, mischief-plotting pumpkins

Pattern: Berry Baby Hat by Michele Sabatier

Yarn: Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece in Wild Orange and Jungle Green

My cousin takes her little girls to the pumpkin patch every October and my stashbusting process convinced me that I needed to make some pumpkin hats for the photo op this year. I got to see them this weekend and learned that A) pumpkin hats are more fun when worn like ski masks to pretend that one is a blind Frankenstein, B) pumpkin hats are even more fun when you place them on hapless stuffed animals and teach them the names of plastic fruit, and C) pumpkin hats are funnest when you wear them while running around the house in a circle, singing at the top of your lungs, until you nearly pass out from the exertion.

Plus, I got to give my cousin this poor, neglected Clapotis:

Cherry Blossom Clapotis

Pattern: Clapotis by Kate Gilbert

Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Sock Yarn in Cherry Blossom, a little less than 2 skeins

This is actually a very fortuitous gift. I thought this one would languish in the back of my drawer because the colors don’t really go with most of my clothes and it’s a teeny bit small for my taste. My cousin, however, has quite the pink-and-white complexion and she is a tiny lady. Match made in heaven!

I love this durn pattern so durn much. I should just make one for every day of the week.

About swayknits

Knitting, writing, designing, dreaming. swayknits is also my username on ravelry.com
This entry was posted in Head Gear, Things That Wrap. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

